Councilmember Place 6· 2025-05-27 – 2028-05-01 (oath of office May 27, 2025 per May 27, 2025 City Council minutes; month-level end: May 2028 per three-year terms, re-elected May 3, 2025 per Resolution No. 614-25 canvass; current-term start, earlier service not sourced here)
Roland Goveas
Richland Hills
No biography on file yet.
Voice
- Meetings spoken in
- 1
- Total speaking time
- 0:02
- Avg per meeting
- 0:02
- Segments
- 3
Want every word Goveas has said?
The OpenCity MCP for Claude.ai answers questions like “what has Goveas said about housing this year” with one prompt — full speaking history, with YouTube timestamps.
Top issues during term (20)
Accessory structure height and setback variance at 7171 Richland Road
No city cost — this is a private property request handled through the standard variance process.
Utility rate increases from Fort Worth
New connections pay more — a standard 3/4-inch meter's combined fee rises to $8,742 by October 2026 — but existing residents are untouched.
Cancellation of four regular Council meetings
Training Option 2 was estimated at $9,214.72 for FY27; holiday staffing costs were flagged for review.
FY 2027 tax rate options
Saves the typical homeowner about $200 a year versus the earlier proposal; every penny of the tax rate is worth roughly $89,500 to the city.
Booth Calloway Road reconstruction funding
The project fee was up for discussion, but no cost figure is available in the materials provided.
Adoption of 2024 International Codes and 2026 National Electrical Code
Fire department needs no additional training funds; ISO ratings could slip if the city stays two editions behind.
Fiscal Year 2027 CCPD Budget
A $7.5 million recurring revenue baseline for the two largest General Fund sources will cap what the city can spend next year.
Cecil Drive street reconstruction
About $1.1 million total, all from the 2023 street bond funds you approved as a voter.
Comprehensive Plan as a zoning guide
Tax revenue from the manufacturing use is expected to be minimal in the early years since there's no retail sales component.
One-time employee salary supplement
Paid from the Strategic Initiatives Fund; total cost depends on eligible headcount and was not stated.
FY 2027 Development Corporation Budget
Draws down $567,678 of fund balance, largely for Rosebud Park improvements.
Write-off of uncollectible utility and fire department accounts
Removes uncollectible receivables from the city's accounting records; the total amount was not stated in the provided materials.
FY2027 municipal fee schedule
The updated fee schedule would change what residents and businesses pay for city services and permits; specific figures were not provided.
Employee vacation buyback policy
Buyback payouts would affect the city's personnel budget; cost estimates were not provided.
TIRZ Number One termination
~$1 million one-time plus $350,000/year redirected to the general fund; ~$80,000/year of county share given up.
Mimosa Park Drive Mill and Overlay
About $1.275 million in street sales tax plus roughly $1.3 million in associated pavement and curb work.
Citywide street conditions and paving priorities
Pricing for street repaving work affects the city's maintenance budget for the coming year.
NCTCOG Electric Vehicle Charging Grant
The city pays about 30% of the project cost; whether charging is free to users is being verified.
Code Compliance Communication Strategy
Atmos Energy Rate Settlement
Settlement terms would shape Atmos gas rates for customers, though specific impacts weren't stated in the agenda.
Decisions during term (48)
Recorded while Goveas was in office — not necessarily decisions they moved, spoke to, or voted on.